Tag Archives: Runway

MBFW: Day 1 Re-Cap

0

Posted on September 6, 2012 by

It’s today, today! The day that marks the push to get Mercedes-Benz New York Fashion Week rolling! We’ve been checking in to YouTube’s Live From the Runway channel and re-watching the shows all morning over here in LA, feeling excitement all around. Bright and early, the digitally broadcast day began with Burning Man chic from Nicholas K, followed up by a show from BCBG that trickled down the runway like a dark romantic novel. Then we had some sporty spice from mister Richard Chai and lastly (at least for us online), the impeccable elegance of Tadashi Shoji. Below, we’ll walk you through four fabulous Spring 2013 Ready-To-Wear collections, accompanied by pictures courtesy of Women’s Wear Daily and Nordstrom.

;

Nicholas K

This brother and sister team started the day out nicely, showing a solid collection true to their functional, yet sophisticated form. The mens and womenswear pieces followed a very neutral and muted colorway, with dessert camels and tans swaying along with periwinkles, celeries, and rusts. The fabric was light, the flow was paramount, and the layering was essential. We are still seeing lots of sheer, lightweight fabrics and color blocked pieces in this line for Spring 2013.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

BCBG Max Azria

The fan and critic favorite of the day seemed to come from the Bon Chic, Bon Genre crew headed by Max Azria. This show was a dream for those who love romance with an edge. Color-speaking, the palette was largely based off of one basic base – black or white…then paired with a blush, peach, periwinkle or lavender. Stealing the show, however, was BCBG’s use of texture. Each outfit was detailed with leather bondage casing and lace paneling that instantly added appeal. Aesthetically speaking, this entire collection was very linear, making the body less curvy, more slinky like they were wearing an updated version of boudoir lingerie. And while the silhouettes and prints remained very feminine, the model’s tousled hair and day old eyeliner with a swipe of rouge really balanced on the brim of rock and roll.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

Richard Chai

Although in his profile picture on the MBFW website, Richard Chai can be seen donning a Nirvana tee…do not be fooled into thinking his collection reflects anything grunge. Quite to the contrary, Chai sent down a parade of sport and prep-school style today in his Spring Ready-To-Wear show. We continued to see that ever present periwinkle, then introducing a refreshing avocado. The colorway dropped off in the latter half of his show, getting into navy, charcoal and taupe areas…using color blocking and paneling to create dimension. For both menswear and womens, the feel was very Pleasantville meets futuristic, using iridescent fabrics and matrix-esque sequins and prints on classic button down shirts and A-line skirts. He kept things fresh and playful with floral bralettes, rib cage cut-outs, and shorts as bottoms in a suit pair.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

Tadashi Shoji

Hold up…were we just watching a red carpet barrage or was that Tadashi Shoji’s Spring RTW collection? We swear any one of Shoji’s beauties (dresses, that is) will be waltzing down to receive awards on the likes of any famed actress or musician very soon. Each gown was a masterpiece, carefully crafted to grant it’s wearer poise and divinity, but with the utmost of confidence. We saw a different color on nearly every dress, from deep coral, watery cobalt, and springtime lilac to rich ivories and basic blacks. Lace stole most of the show’s attention, but in many different shapes and forms. There were collared shifts, off the shoulder sleeves, Grecian strapping, and tulle wrapping to make a whirlwind of ethereal fancy throughout.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

Check back for more coverage of NYFW’s live streamed runway shows…

Subscribe: Live Stream New York Fashion Week

0

Posted on September 5, 2012 by

Ahh…to be fashionably connected and in New York City this week.  All of the runway shows, parties, FNO events, and shopping make most fashion lovers salivate at the thought.  For those of us stuck in the office or any other city during all of the RTW 2013 runway debuts, there’s a way to be a part of the action – YouTube: Live From The Runway!  Below, you’ll find the schedule each day for this quality front and center view of the catwalk goods!

 

Thursday September 6, 2012

Nicholas K – 9:00 am EST/6:00 am PST

Richard Chai – 11:00 am EST/8:00 am PST

Tadashi Shoji – 2:00 pm EST/11:00 am PST

Friday September 7, 2012

Rebecca Minkoff – 3:00 pm EST/12:00 pm PST

Nicole Miller – 6:00 pm EST/3:00 pm PST

Charlotte Ronson – 7:00 pm EST/4:00 pm PST

Helmut Lang – 7:00 pm EST/4:00 pm PST

Saturday September 8, 2012

Lacoste – 10:00 am EST/7:00 am PST

Jill Stuart – 11:00 am EST/8:00 am PST

Mara Hoffman – 2:00 pm EST/11:00 am PST

Monique Lhuillier – 7:00 pm EST/4:00 pm PST

Sunday September 9, 2012

Lela Rosa – 11:00 am EST/8:00 am PST

DKNY – 1:00 pm EST/10:00 am PST

Tracy Reese – 2:00 pm EST/11:00 am PST

Custo Barcelona – 3:00 pm EST/12:00 pm PST

Diane Von Furstenberg – 4:00 pm EST/1:00 pm PST

Timo Weiland – 6:00 pm EST/3:00 pm PST

Chado Ralph Rucci – 8:00 pm EST/5:00 pm PST

Monday September 10, 2012

Carolina Herrera – 10:00 am EST/7:00 am PST

Carlos Miele – 11:00 am EST/8:00 am PST

Donna Karan – 2:00 pm EST/11:00 am PST

Reem Acra – 3:00 pm EST/12:00 pm PST

Tuesday September 11, 2012

Badgley Mischka – 10:00 am EST/7:00 am PST

Vera Wang – 11:00 am EST/8:00 am PST

Jenny Packham – 1:00 pm EST/10:00 am PST

Wednesday September 12, 2012

Bibhu Mohapatra – 9:00 am EST/6:00 am PST

Michael Kors – 10:00 am EST/7:00 am PST

Rachel Zoe – 1:00 pm EST/10:00 am PST

J. Mendel – 2:00 pm EST/11:00 am PST

Milly by Michelle Smith – 3:00 pm EST/12:00 pm PST

 

Reed Krakoff – Resort 2013

0

Posted on June 7, 2012 by

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reed Krakoff is celebrating much success these days.  You may know him better for his work with Coach, which just won him a CFDA award for Accessory Design.  But Reed also knows how to dress you, not just accessorize you.  His Ready to Wear Resort 2013 collection, Reed describes his aesthetic as ‘warm minimalism’…which really is a perfect description to capture his look and feel.

Reed’s use of silk jersey, sheer overlays, and translucent materials delivered a very fluid motion down the runway.  What was perhaps most appealing about the entire line was his use of juicy, pop colors like cobalt, nectarine and light peach hues up against a more neutral base palette of sands and camels.  Diagonal slits and asymmetrical python skirts provided a sweet hint of ‘come hither’, while the collection as a whole spoke fresh and sporty meets business smooth.  Watch the video below of images provided by Style.com of the entire Resort 2013 collection:

JBCStyle | Top Ten | On Trend SS 2012

0

Posted on January 23, 2012 by

In the world of runway fashion, spring has already come and gone.  But for the rest of us, spring is creeping up around the corner…here’s what to wear between now until your first brisk fall wind…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. The Great Gatsby

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Runway models bore a slight resemblance to the top of the Chrysler building, walking down the Spring/Summer 2012 debut runways.  The season is brimming with elegance, twenties glamour and linear goodness. (Shown above:  Marchesa and Tori Burch)

 

2. Sporty Spice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Athletic wear has never looked so chic!  Spring/Summer is chock full of breathable, flexible, and water resistant materials.  (Shown above: Derek Lam and Alexander Wang)

 

3. Feminine Flattery

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Designers all across the board were bringing back a classic, feminine form; reminiscent of the 1940s and 50s.  Cinched waists, accentuated hips, and broad shoulders working together to create the hourglass effect.  (Shown above:  Christian Dior, Fendi, Elie Tahari)

 

4. Flower Bomb

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spring/Summer is in full bloom!  Floral patterns, of epic proportions, sprang up down the runway in shades of fuchsia, lime, ocean blue, and tangerine.  (Shown above:  Peter Som and Salvatore Ferragamo)

 

5. Pastel Party

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aside from all of the eye catching bright colors, SS 2012 revealed a bouquet of soft pastels.  Wearing pastels with other pastels or to accent a brighter hue is the right way to go about this powdery palette this season.  (Shown above:  Calvin Klein Collection, L’Wren Scott, Diane von Furstenberg)

 

6. The Life Aquatic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Couture designers dove deep for their lines this year.  We saw sequins, mermaid print, starfish decals, and fin-like ruffles sashay down the runway.  (Shown above:  Chanel, Versace, Alexander McQueen)

 

7. Rockabilly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fashion just got a little trashy!  50s greaser inspired hairdos paired with flame and auto graphics boot scoot and boogied into this season’s trend wave.  (Shown above:  Jeremy Scott and Prada)

 

8. Bare Midriff

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Designers are testing your ab fitness for Spring/Summer…so get crunching!  The runway was fabulously littered with scantily clad, tummy-baring two pieces.  (Shown above:  Prada, Band of Outsiders, Helmut Lang)

 

9. Transparency

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To keep up with the scantily clad trend…this season also featured a cocoon of sheer fabrics.  Transparent stripes, laces, and gauzy skirts flowed free as clouds down the catwalk.  (Shown above:  Christian Dior, Elie Tahari, John Galliano)

 

10. Tangerine Dream

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tangerine Tango:  2012 Pantone color of the year!  Get crazy with this citrus explosion of a color by mixing it with other bolds, golds, neutrals, or pastels.  (Shown above:  Alberta Ferretti, VPL, Peter Som)